top-connecticut-defense-lawyer

TROUBLE WITH THE LAW?
GIVE ME A CALL

860-530-1781

SE HABLA ESPANOL

Were you arrested for domestic violence in Connecticut?

You are not alone. Every year, thousands of people in the state are arrested and charged with domestic violence-related offenses.

What Is Domestic Violence?

In Connecticut, the term “domestic violence” is used to describe a number of different offenses that can be committed against a family or household member. The term includes, but is not limited to, physical abuse, sexual abuse, emotional abuse, economic abuse, and stalking.

If you have been accused of any of these types of abuse, it is important to understand that you have rights and there are defenses available to you. An experienced domestic violence defense lawyer can help you navigate the criminal justice system and protect your rights.

Penalties for Domestic Violence in Connecticut

The penalties for domestic violence in Connecticut depend on the specific offense that is charged. Some offenses, such as stalking, are classified as misdemeanors, while others, such as strangulation, are felonies.

If you are convicted of a misdemeanor domestic violence offense, you could be sentenced to up to one year in jail and fined up to $2,000. If you are convicted of a felony domestic violence offense, you could be sentenced to prison for up to five years and fined up to $5,000.

In addition to any jail time or fines that may be imposed, a conviction for domestic violence can also result in a number of collateral consequences. For example, you may lose your right to possess firearms or be subject to a protective order.

Defenses to Domestic Violence Charges in Connecticut

If you have been accused of domestic violence, it is important to understand that there are defenses available to you. Some of the most common defenses to domestic violence charges include:

Self-defense: You may be able to avoid a conviction if you can show that you were acting in self-defense or defense of another when the alleged incident occurred.

Lack of proof: In order for you to be convicted of domestic violence, the prosecutor must prove that you committed the offense beyond a reasonable doubt. If there is insufficient evidence to meet this burden, you cannot be convicted.

False accusation: It is not uncommon for people to be falsely accused of domestic violence. If you have been wrongfully accused, you should speak to a lawyer about your options.

Get Help from an Experienced Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer

If you have been charged with domestic violence in Connecticut, it is important to seek the help of an experienced defense lawyer as soon as possible. At Llinas Law Immigration & Criminal Defense, our team has helped many people facing domestic violence charges in the state. We understand the seriousness of these charges and will fight tirelessly to protect your rights and freedom. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation.

HOW CAN I HELP YOU? COMO TE PUEDO AYUDAR?

4 + 11 =

Deadly Weapons Charges in Connecticut

Navigating Deadly Weapons Charges in Connecticut - A Guide by Llinas Law Deadly weapons charges are severe criminal offenses in Connecticut, encompassing a wide array of circumstances involving unlawful possession, carrying, or use of a weapon. These charges often...

read more

Connecticut Fake ID Laws

Connecticut Fake ID Laws: What You Need to Know A Comprehensive Overview of the Laws Surrounding Fake IDs in The Constitution State Connecticut's stance on fake IDs is stringent, reflecting the state's commitment to upholding the integrity of legal identification...

read more

What Is An Arraignment?

What Is An Arraignment In Connecticut? Navigating the First Step in Connecticut's Judicial Process Arraignment in Connecticut court is a critical juncture in the judicial process, marking the beginning of formal legal proceedings against an individual. This guide aims...

read more