If you have been accused of any crime in the State of Connecticut, how you choose to proceed could impact your ability to get these charges dismissed or reduced.  You need to be prepared to fight back when you have been accused of violating any statute in Connecticut, and larceny in the sixth degree is no different.  In the State of Connecticut, larceny occurs when a person, with the intent to deprive another person of property, wrongfully obtains, takes, or withholds such property from its rightful owner.

There are many different kinds of conduct that can fall under larceny, including extortion, acquiring property by mistake, obtaining property under false pretenses, embezzlement, and shoplifting.  Not every type of larceny is the same, however, and how much is stolen will dictate how the person is punished.

Larceny ranges from first degree to the sixth degree, with the first degree being the most serious, and sixth degree larceny is the least serious of all these criminal charges.   If the value of the services or property involved in the theft is less than $500, then the offense is classified as larceny in the sixth degree.

Larceny in the sixth degree is a class C misdemeanor and carries a maximum penalty of three months in prison and/or a $500 fine.  However, there is a good chance that you may be able to get these charges dropped entirely in exchange for community service, restitution and/or participation in a diversionary program if you are a first-time offender.  Your ability to pursue these options can depend upon whether or not you retain an attorney immediately.  You need to consult with a lawyer as soon as possible after you have been charged

If you retain a Connecticut larceny defense lawyer right away, there’s a chance that you could avoid a conviction. Since sixth-degree larceny is not as serious as other allegations, your lawyer might be able to convince prosecutors that there’s not enough evidence to make it worth going forward. Many of these situations can be resolved outside of court in an effort to save court time in addressing minor issues. Let your lawyer walk you through that process.

Contact J. Christopher Llinas to discuss your options.


5 + 2 =

Deadly Weapons Charges in Connecticut

Navigating Deadly Weapons Charges in Connecticut - A Guide by Llinas Law Deadly weapons charges are severe criminal offenses in Connecticut, encompassing a wide array of circumstances involving unlawful possession, carrying, or use of a weapon. These charges often...

read more

Connecticut Fake ID Laws

Connecticut Fake ID Laws: What You Need to Know A Comprehensive Overview of the Laws Surrounding Fake IDs in The Constitution State Connecticut's stance on fake IDs is stringent, reflecting the state's commitment to upholding the integrity of legal identification...

read more

What Is An Arraignment?

What Is An Arraignment In Connecticut? Navigating the First Step in Connecticut's Judicial Process Arraignment in Connecticut court is a critical juncture in the judicial process, marking the beginning of formal legal proceedings against an individual. This guide aims...

read more